Crafting Publicity

Imagine DragonsWe’re coming close to the six-month mark since the publication of THE DRAGONS OF HEAVEN, and it has been doing fairly well by most rubrics. The one place it seems to be lagging is in reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, and that’s largely on me for being reluctant to be pushy about encouraging people to review.

Reviews matter, though. Both Amazon and Goodreads (but especially Amazon) have algorithms that kick in promotional visibility at various levels. For example, 25 reviews on Amazon makes a book eligible for things like daily deals. These are magic numbers that can measurably help a book reach a larger audience.

But ugh! Publicity! I don’t want to do it any more than you all want to hear about it! I’d rather spend my (non-writing) time doing fun things like sewing, gaming, listening to music, or browsing DeviantArt. Wouldn’t you?

Enter my “I’d Rather Be Doing X” review drive! Right now I’m at 14 reviews on Amazon. I’m encouraging folks to go and add an HONEST review if they have read the book. When we hit the following levels, I pledge to organize giveaways on this blog for the associated rewards.

At 25 reviews – I will arrange a giveaway of two copies of THE DRAGONS OF HEAVEN and share the novel soundtrack for all giveaway entrants via 8tracks.com, complete with original cover art by the lovely Avery Liell-Kok.

At 50 reviews – I will arrange a giveaway of two copies of THE DRAGONS OF HEAVEN and also a giveaway of three stuffed Chinese dragon toys handmade by me (pattern TBD, but probably a modified version of this one). I will also blog the process of making the dragons so that everyone can enjoy the fun of watching my fingers bleed.

At 75 reviews – TBD, let’s see if we can make it to 50 first!

You can find the Amazon review page here. If you would rather post a review on Goodreads, you can find the Goodreads page here. You do not need to have submitted a review to be eligible for the giveaway, but the giveaways only go into effect when we hit the target number of reviews.

Cheers!

One thought on “Crafting Publicity

Leave a Reply

