Writing meme

Because all my cool friends are doing it:

1. Go to page 77 (or 7th) of your current ms
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next 7 lines – sentences or paragraphs – and post them as they’re written. No cheating.

I thought about pulling from Dragons, but I guess that would be cheating. Chiaroscuro is my ‘current’ manuscript, even if it is on hiatus.

“What if I were to say that I loved you?” Giuliana asked, changing tactics. Pippa’s stomach rolled, and it had nothing to do with the movement of the ship. She clenched her teeth hard enough to make her whole body tremble.

She wouldn’t cry. She would not cry.

“You’ve known me your whole life, and I doubt you care for me as much as you do for this new toy of yours.” Pippa meant the accusation to be light, but the words fell like lead between them. Giuliana sucked in a breath, drew back as though struck. Pippa stepped closer, hand outstretched. “Giules, I–”

“No.” Giuliana cut a hand across Pippa’s apology. “I suppose you’ve the right of it. Given a choice between you and the Hummingswift… well, I agreed to the betrothal, didn’t I?”

A tap at the cabin door interrupted them. That aerisian, Visri. Pippa hadn’t seen any other crew. She stifled a groan. Chances were he had heard her fight with Giuliana.

“Captain, we have clearance. If we don’t lift off now, we’ll be–”

“All right, Visri. I’ll be out directly.” Giuliana scrubbed her face. Sniffled a few times. Sighed hard enough to puff out her cheeks. Then she met Pippa’s gaze. “Well, come along. You wanted to see her fly. You can sit in the reserve pilot’s jumpseat.”

45 thoughts on “Writing meme

  1. Looks VERY good…

    …certainly better than anything I could come up with. Do you (and David) ever actually sleep with all of the work (game & non-game) that the two of you do? Oh, wait, you’re listening to David snore…but he could just be pretending to snore…I’m just a goob, ignore me…;-)

  2. Kirei na webusaito desu nee. Don’t ask me why I felt the need to say “it’s a pretty website” in scribble language. My brain has been baked into goo and I just drank an entire Dr. Pepper, my first caffeine in I don’t know how long.

    <poing>

  3. new website

    Terrific website. Good theme, and you kept to theme. Easy to use naviation/menus. Great information for the non-gamer – or for each level as a person builds in RPG knowledge up to your gamining.
    Colors and graphics appropriate to the culture. Beautiful graphics.
    (my sound is off, so if there was music I missed it).

    webpagesthatsuck would have nothing negative to say about this site.

    Congratulations
    The utilitarian webauthor
    Conna-mom

    • Heh. I felt a little bad about not letting them go further, but it just didn’t feel right. I may write a ‘missing scene’ later that explores Ten picking Nine up, and the agreements they came to beforehand, and maybe then they’ll get to shag each other…er, themselves? Or something…

  4. Right, so I’m sitting here after reading from the very first chapter, with a huge grin on my face, and I’m extremely glad no one else uses my computer. Hahaha.

    This was absolutely marvelous, and I tend to be more of a fluff-not-smut person.

    • Thank you so much! I tend towards fluff in my writing (well, actually my preferred medium is angst, but fluffy angst!), and this is my first hard-core smut, so I’m glad to hear it works for you!

  5. The little smut fiend in me is cheering quite enthusiastically. And so am I!
    This pairing is shaping up to be just as appealing as Doc/Rose/Jack. I’d love to see more! And maybe a battle of the OT3s. Or a collaboration of both, thus making it OT4…I think my inner smut fiend has just fainted!

    • [whips out the smelling salts…and the whips]

      Glad to fry the synapses of your inner smut fiend! I have to say, up til now I’ve been a fan of OT3, but the idea of a battle of sex and an OT4…I don’t know if either Rose or myself could handle it…

      But damn, it’d be fun to try!

  6. This is so much more than smut, really, even though the smut itself is very well-written. I loved the previous chapter with Nine, the aching loneliness we can sense within Nine, his need for Rose’s love and his inability to say the same words in return. And his ‘I want not to forget’ just hurt.

    This chapter, too – I loved the image of Nine and Ten kissing and fondling each other, and I just bet Rose would’ve loved to see them do more 🙂 Besides that, Ten’s need to get Rose back with him, his fear when he thinks for a minute that she’s not coming and their conversation about the forgetting were very well done.

    I want more. And I want Nine 😉

    Oh, and about going to get Captain Jack? Excellent idea! *grin*

    • Thank you so much! The Nine stuff in the previous chapter flowed so much more smoothly than the Ten stuff here. I’m so glad to hear that him not wanting to forget had the impact I hoped. I wrote that and just sat there staring at the line feeling sorry for Nine. I live for writing moments like that (I’m such an angst whore!)

      One more to go, and possibly a Captain Jack epilogue once I see Torchwood!

  7. You see that puddle of goo over there in the corner? The one next to the blue shirt? Yeah, that’s me. The intense hotness of this chapter made me melt. Not that I’m complaining, mind you. 😉 Keep it up.

  8. I have a hard time actually thinking of this as smut. To me smut implies something dirty – this is kinky, but not dirty. On the contrary, it’s beautiful, everything done and written with such love that you can feel it coming off the page (computer screen?).

    Even the anal sex, which always carries overtones of “dirty”, “wrong”. Of course she’d want to have them both at once. You’ve done an amazing job of effortlessly making your reader realize that.

    Thanks for writing this. Can’t wait to see where it goes.

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you. This was so hard to write, because of all the negative representations of DP that are out there. I almost didn’t do it because I’m so conscious of how this kind of thing can come off, and I wanted to explore the sensually *romantic* possibilities, rather than the dirty/taboo ones that normally seem to go hand in hand with anal sex and DP. It really is good to know that it comes across as I had hoped. Thanks!

  9. Oooo this looks like fun!! I would like to make an attempt to join! I’ve been wanting to reread the books anyway.

    I think seeing Order of the Phoenix on the 27th is a great idea!! However I think the movie opens on July 13. But hey, seeing it several times is in my mind a good thing. 🙂

    Plus I’m going to try and hold a Harry Potter Party again this year near HP and JKR’s birthday which is July 31. (Such Leos!!!) Probably on the 28th. 🙂

    Gosh, this could be a blast! Thanks for thinking of it.

      • Hey you would think that Kerasotes would be right!

        Oh and there will be Harry Potter parties at the bookstores in town. Hubby and I will be at B&N – probably giving Tarot readings again this year. 😉 In short, it is a Harry Potter summer and that is a goooood thing!!

    • If you could, that would be put on the list of “Things that make me go ‘squee!’ “.

      There will also probably be BBQ’s this summer if you and the Silver Dragon can make it down.

  10. I too would enjoy joining in the geekery. I can’t make May 10th and will probably miss July 5th as well, but I think I’m around otherwise, at least from what I know right now.

  11. I might be up for that! It’s fitting, too, that Chamber of Secrets is the one I’d miss, as it’s the book I like the least (though I prefer the second movie to the first).

  12. I’m all over it! At the whim of my schedule of course. Tony and I have already started re-reading them, we’re both on book 3 at the moment.

    Oh! I’ve got a magazine that you *need* to borrow! lots of interviews and stuff.

    I also started talking with Tony about running a tabletop game set in the Potter-verse, be looking for an e-mail on that if it happens.

  13. I’d be interested, but the times will likely be a stumbling block for me.
    My Thursdays belong to MCCT until early June and around July 4th I’ll be in MA to see my sister married.

Leave a Reply

