6:42

I’ve been trying to work out the best way to wake up.

A recent shift in schedule means that my morning writing time is a little more crunched than before.  Rather than letting this freak me out and send me into a tizzy of several months of not-writing, I’ve been making tiny adjustments that have been working out rather better than I’d expected.

1. I need a morning writing space. In the past, this has been a coffee shop of some sort, but that takes packing up and travel and unpacking and ordering a tea time – probably an hour total that I could have been spent writing.  Now, my new house has this amazing Victorian solarium with a 180 degree view of Oakland, SF, and the peninsula.  It’s a little chilly in the mornings, but there’s an old card table, I can sit there while I eat my breakfast, and it turns out that it is an excellent venue for morning writing.

2. That’s great, but it still leaves me feeling a bit crunched.  This comes down to wake-up times.  I _want_ to be waking up at 7am, but after my alarm goes off, I end up hitting snooze until almost 8am (yes, I have no discipine).  However, over the past week I’ve noticed something strange.  I usually wake up at 6:30 all on my lonesome.  I blink out the window next to my bed until the alien image becomes the recognizeable, palm-tree dominated landscape.  Then I cuddle up and go back to sleep until my alarm goes off and I can hit snooze.

So this got me thinking about sleep cycles.  It seems like I have a natural ‘upswing’ around 6:30, and by the time 7:00 rolls around, I’m already in the depths again, and waking up is impossible.  So I set my alarm for 6:42, and hopped out of bed this morning like it was nothing.

Why 6:42?  Because that is the number that has dogged me through life.  I first started noticing it when I was a teenager.  I can’t remember why it was important then, but I think it might have been when I absolutely _had_ to leave the house to catch the bus to school.  But it’s the number I always notice on the clock, the way some people notice 4:20 (though not for the same reasons, natch!)

In the interest of making coincidence meaningful, I’m giving 6:42 a try.  So far, it’s working well.

On a whimsical note, I googled the number.  I expected to get bible verses (and I did), but I also got a lot of hits for the Philippines lottery.  Maybe I should take note of that.

Anyways… anyone else have a  meaningful relationship with 6:42?  Share your stories!!

Luke, 6:42
How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when you yourself fail to see the plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Pundits take note!  God is talking to YOU!

Also… anyone know how to turn off this annoying autosave?  It resets my page every 2 seconds, which means my text is constantly hopping back to the beginning.  Sooooooo annoying!  It didn’t used to do this.

On to my real writing.  Fae of the day is Luathas the Wild.

6 thoughts on “6:42

Leave a Reply

