Look out, it’s contagious…

So, I get complimented on my laugh. Like, a lot. What prompted me to write this post is that I was thinking about this yesterday evening, and then this morning when I was getting in to work, I got complimented on my laugh again by a complete stranger.

In fact, I think that I get complimented on my laugh more than any single other feature.

So, is this normal? I mean, do other people get complimented fairly frequently on an unusual feature? Has anyone else ever been complimented on their laugh? I’ve tried listening to my laugh, and it doesn’t seem any better than anyone else’s laugh, so I’m always a bit perplexed when mine is complimented. I’ve heard obnoxious laughs before, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard a laugh so great that I’ve felt compelled to compliment someone on it, and I’m usually pretty active in paying compliments to strangers — if I admire something about someone, shouldn’t I let them know?

So, yeah. What is up with this?

16 thoughts on “Look out, it’s contagious…

  1. You do have a very nice laugh– I wouldn’t call it pretty, because it’s not, nor is it delicate, but it’s very vivacious. There’s no question that you’re laughing because you are genuinely joyful.

    I never get complimented on anything but my breasts. 😦

  2. Speaking as someone who has used making you laugh as a role-playing style and strategy, I’d agree that you have a pretty nice laugh. Your laugh comes off as very appreciative and genuine. You also have a very nice speaking voice, so I’m sure that helps. 🙂
    I get complimented on my voice a lot as well. It sounds totally different in my head than it does to others, so I’m sometimes amused by people’s reaction. Now if only I could use it to make some money…

    -S

  3. I would say you certainly have a very distinct laugh. I wouldn’t necessarily say it’s good or bad, just noticeable. It’s very easy to pick your laugh out of a crowd, it isn’t overly loud or anything (unlike my father’s laugh which can pierce through the din of a professional sporting event, airline engines, gunfire, and three feet of solid steel to rattle the fillings in your teeth).

    I have never been complimented on an unusual feature. The only things I’ve ever been complimented on, as far as features go, is my smile and my eyes (they’ve got orange in them!). Both of which are fairly normal things to be complimented on, and I actually haven’t been complimented on either of those in a very long time.

  4. I love your laugh because it seems somehow completely honest, and it doesn’t hold anything back–it’s so unambiguously joyful.

    The things I get complimented on most these days is my hair color and my bangs.

  5. What others have said. When you laugh — when you really let it out — then it seems to come from the heart, as if you’re honestly so amused you just can’t hold it in. It doesn’t sound artificial at all.

  6. You sweet-talker you ;>

    In unrelated news, it looks like I will be in DC on the 24th, which means I could possibly do the RHPS thing in Atlantic City. I’d need to beg crash space. Could you send details on the buying of tickets and the like?

    • Awesome! Between Casey and myself, I’m sure we can find you a place to crash. Tickets are $95 which includes Friday night (Welcome Party w/Open Bar & Shock Treatment), Saturday (Costume Contests, Special Routines, Pat & Nell Q&A, etc.), and Saturday night (All-Star RHPS at House of Blues). You can buy tickets via PayPal and get more details at:

      http://www.rockycon2008.com

      Feel free to email me or give me a call if you have any questions. My number is still the same from Indiana.

      Good luck!

      -Shawn

  7. Yes, you’re laugh is pretty neat. I think the best word I would use would be…unrepentant. Whether it’s a happy laugh, an unexpected laugh, a snarky laugh or just a plain ol’ laugh it tends to sound genuinely amused, usually in spite of itself. I imagine I’ve been complemented on things, though not by strangers. Actually, I used to make a concerted effort to wave off, weasel out of or outright deny compliments during most of highschool. I would laugh, thank the person, and then very precisely efface myself. Is that the right word. Sure.

    -Crow

Leave a Reply

