More on ICFA

Okay, so whomsoever is interested in discussing the ICFA thing, lets meet for dinner at 6:30-ish (I might have to take ancientwisdom home first, so I may be a few minutes late) at Yatz (or is it Yats?). Cheap food, good conversation, fun for the whole academic family.

If you are interested but can’t make it, let me know what you are considering. I have set up an e-mail list for possible participants. If you are not on it (that is, if you haven’t been receiving messages for the past few days) but want to be, let me know and I will add you. I’ll e-mail everyone an update on Thursday morning.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about,

Okay, guys. Several of you replied to my original LJ post, but I thought I would e-mail people who I thought might be interested in going down to ICFA and presenting a paper, or creating a panel, or possibly doing both.

For those of you who don’t know what it is, ICFA is the annual conference for the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts. It is unusual in that it is a conference that brings together academics and writers (something that I highly approve of). The hold their conference in March in Ft. Lauderdale. Bryn, David and I went last year and had a really good time. This year I believe that Bryn, Kyle, David and myself are definitely going. I don’t know who else on this list is definite for going At any rate, ICFA reopened it’s call for papers, and as I mentioned on my LJ, I’m spearheading the organization for us to get some proposals submitted. I’d like to get at least one panel organized, but I’m also up for prodding people into doing solo submissions (which David believes is what ICFA really needs at this point).

For those of you who are undergrads, ICFA is a very laid-back conference. The papers there are written at a variety of levels, and I attended several sessions that had undergrads presenting. It’s a good conference for getting your feet wet. For those of you who are not academics, the same applies. ICFA is a mixture of writers and academics, and you’ll get papers presented by both. It’s also a good opportunity to meet and greet editors and publishers and the like (I met Tom Doherty last year, and thanked him for all the wonderful books he’d published for me to read. It was a moment). As for topics, I’ve seen papers on individual books, fanfiction, gender, identity, television shows, etc. The focus is very broad.

So anyways, the official CFP is below. I’m hoping that those of us who are interested can get together on Wednesday night to meet and discuss potential panels. David and I would really like to do a Neil Gaiman panel, but if nobody else has any Gaiman papers or ideas then we can work something else. Oh, and don’t worry about the theme. That’s more of a suggestion than a requirement.

ICFA26: Blurring the Boundaries: Transrealism and Other Movements
March 16-20, 2005
Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel

This is a reopening of the Call for Papers for the 26th Annual International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts. The focus of ICFA-26 is on the movements that encourage and embody the breaking and blurring of boundaries in all media. From film to fiction, from comics to poetry, in works for both adults and children, the border between the mundane world of reality and the fantastic world of the imagination is a space undergoing exploration. While ICFA does focus on a different theme each year, we always welcome proposals for individual papers and for academic sessions on any aspect of the fantastic in any media, from the Fantastic in Children’s and Young Adult Literature to Popular Culture & the Visual Arts and the Fantastic in Film, from Science Fiction and Horror to Fantastic Literature in English and the International Fantastic.

For more information on these divisions and contact information for the appropriate division head, please check our website at http://www.iafa.org. The deadline for this reopened Call for Papers is November 30, 2004.

2 thoughts on “More on ICFA

  1. I won’t be able to make it tonight, but I’m going to link to this on my lj and see if we can get some slizzards to cover a library angle. Not sure what it’ll be: kids fic, online communities, commics, fan fic, but if you have suggestions for us, let us know. Can’t promise if we’d be able to do it, but I’ll see if I get any interest from other SLIS people.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

